PL71 kit

A place for DIY project discussions.
floydfan

PL71 kit

Unread post by floydfan »

Hi All

I have just acquired a kit to build a Pl71 turntable and have used the vinyl engine schematic and a few posts on AoS to get my head round the connections. I was stumped for a few days working out the connections around the on/off microswitches and speed pots. There were two versions, one with two microswitches and one with three microswitches. I thought I had a 3 switch one with one of the switches missing and tried for days to work out the logical wiring connections( ps I am not too good with electronics) but I now think I have a 2 switch system with one being power on/off and the other toggleing between 33 and 45. I will think a bit more before getting the soldering iron out.
I have put this post in for the interest/amusement of the Forum but I do have one question which someone may help me with. The original set up of the deck was, I think, with twin core mains cable but there is a metal bottom, should I put in a 3 core cable and earth to a screw in the metal.
I will give updates but they may be slow in coming as I am trying to do a good job with this deck and I can be a bit hamfisted.

floydfan

Re: PL71 kit

For anyone interested I have just finished assembling the PL71 and am listening to Neil Young Unplugged and it sounds good.
I am just testing at the moment and running the TT with a JVC Z1 cartridge through a Cambridge Audio amp and am using a pair of " Doc mod"" Sony speakers and have not set up the cartridge accurately but it still sounds impressive.
Next I will put the TT into my NVA set-up, fettle the cartridge and run it till I can get a MC cart. possibly a Denon 103.
Ps I had forgotten how good the music centre speakers sound after the steel coat a crossover removal treatment, well worth the effort!

Dr Bunsen Honeydew
Has thanked: 0

Unread post by Dr Bunsen Honeydew »

Piccys please :epop:

floydfan

P1000312com.jpg