Switch Phono1 to MC

As an alternative to ebay place orders here and pay either by paypal or bank transfer or cheque. When shipped and received the thread will be closed.
tomblackford
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 10:16 pm

Switch Phono1 to MC

Unread post by tomblackford » Wed Jun 22, 2016 6:43 am

Hi,

Not sure if this quite constitutes an order but would it be possible to arrange switching my Phono1 to MC (I could drop it over in Sidcup)?

I'm replacing a DL-160 (high output) with a DL-301 mk2 (low output).

Would it be possible to pop over one evening, Thursday pm or at the weekend?

Regards

Tom

User avatar
Dr Bunsen Honeydew
Posts: 27168
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:26 pm
Location: Muppet Labs
Great Britain

Re: Switch Phono1 to MC

Unread post by Dr Bunsen Honeydew » Wed Jun 22, 2016 10:42 am

Thursday is a problem, but other evenings OK. Call me before you set off 02083007247

tomblackford
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 10:16 pm

Re: Switch Phono1 to MC

Unread post by tomblackford » Wed Jun 22, 2016 11:13 am

Fantastic. I'll be in touch.

If you can do it 'while I wait' I would love to have a 5 minute listen to some Cubes if you have any auditionable... I don't think I could accommodate them in my current room setup (as one speaker is in a shelf), but maybe one for the future when my kids are less destructive!

tomblackford
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 10:16 pm

Re: Switch Phono1 to MC

Unread post by tomblackford » Sun Jun 26, 2016 12:36 am

So... fired up the DL-301 through the Phono1 today and all is sounding wonderful.

Thanks again Richard for fitting this in on your Friday evening and for indulging my inane questions. I wish I'd had been better able to describe how impressed I was with the cubes you played me at the time. Suffice to say, I thought they sounded fantastic, somehow huge and dynamic yet intimate at the same time.

User avatar
Dr Bunsen Honeydew
Posts: 27168
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:26 pm
Location: Muppet Labs
Great Britain

Re: Switch Phono1 to MC

Unread post by Dr Bunsen Honeydew » Sun Jun 26, 2016 5:57 am

You were listening to the top set of Terry's two part Cubix Pros.

tomblackford
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 10:16 pm

Re: Switch Phono1 to MC

Unread post by tomblackford » Sun Jul 10, 2016 12:20 am

Hi Richard,

Hope things are good with you. I've been very much enjoying the Phono1 recently, but when recording output to computer the other day, I noticed that one channel is somewhat down on volume - see first image below.

I borrowed a Rega Aria to check whether it was an issue with my TT / cart but I don't think it is - see second image below (from the same song). The levels are certainly not identical but they are a bit closer, and the mix itself might not be totally balanced i guess.

What do you reckon? Do you think there's anything that can be done?

regards,

tom

Image
Image

User avatar
Dr Bunsen Honeydew
Posts: 27168
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:26 pm
Location: Muppet Labs
Great Britain

Re: Switch Phono1 to MC

Unread post by Dr Bunsen Honeydew » Sun Jul 10, 2016 12:22 am

If you want it checked then get it back to me.

tomblackford
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 10:16 pm

Re: Switch Phono1 to MC

Unread post by tomblackford » Sun Jul 10, 2016 12:26 am

Hey Richard,

Thanks for quick reply. Yep, that's the one. Would it be ok to pop over one evening (similar to last time)?

regards,
tom

User avatar
Dr Bunsen Honeydew
Posts: 27168
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:26 pm
Location: Muppet Labs
Great Britain

Re: Switch Phono1 to MC

Unread post by Dr Bunsen Honeydew » Sun Jul 10, 2016 12:27 am

Yes but this time it will need time to find the fault so you will have to leave it.

tomblackford
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 10:16 pm

Re: Switch Phono1 to MC

Unread post by tomblackford » Sun Jul 10, 2016 12:43 am

Great - thanks. I may even be able to drop it over tomorrow daytime if you're going to be around. Otherwise one evening next week.

Post Reply