AP30

How to get the best from the forum.
Ordinaryman
Posts: 469
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2019 4:50 pm
Has thanked: 98 times
Been thanked: 72 times
Great Britain

AP30

Unread post by Ordinaryman »

Seems I have just lost most of the output from my s/h ap30 on the left hand channel. Ever since I've owned it at low levels the balance hadn't seemed quite right. Now it would seem I have to turn it up way beyond my normal listening levels to correct it, any ideas as to what could be wrong :cry:

User avatar
savvypaul
Posts: 5967
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2016 7:14 pm
Location: Durham
Has thanked: 722 times
Been thanked: 665 times
Contact:
Great Britain

Re: AP30

Unread post by savvypaul »

Sounds like a failing volume pot.

It's normal to have a slight imbalance within the first 30 degrees or so, on those older pots. Turn the volume past that until the sound balances, then turn back down to desired volume.

How far do you have to turn it to get the right balance?
I am in the hi-fi trade
Status: Manufacturer
Company Name: NVA Hi-Fi
https://nvahifi.co.uk/

Ordinaryman
Posts: 469
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2019 4:50 pm
Has thanked: 98 times
Been thanked: 72 times
Great Britain

Re: AP30

Unread post by Ordinaryman »

About 40/50% of volume control, far to loud for me in the room I listen.

User avatar
savvypaul
Posts: 5967
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2016 7:14 pm
Location: Durham
Has thanked: 722 times
Been thanked: 665 times
Contact:
Great Britain

Re: AP30

Unread post by savvypaul »

Yep. That is too much.

Replace the volume pot.
I am in the hi-fi trade
Status: Manufacturer
Company Name: NVA Hi-Fi
https://nvahifi.co.uk/

Ordinaryman
Posts: 469
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2019 4:50 pm
Has thanked: 98 times
Been thanked: 72 times
Great Britain

Re: AP30

Unread post by Ordinaryman »

I wish I had the ability to do so. I know and understand its not something that you are prepared to do, any idea as to who could?

User avatar
Fretless
Posts: 7060
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 12:15 pm
Location: Somewhere in Holland
Has thanked: 388 times
Been thanked: 474 times
Netherlands

Re: AP30

Unread post by Fretless »

Sometimes I get grit/dust in the volume pot of my old NVA amp. What I do is (with no music playing) give the volume pot a few rapid twists to max and back until the pot stops making any unwanted noise.

Or try with the amp off first.
These users thanked the author Fretless for the post:
savvypaul (Fri Feb 19, 2021 10:22 pm)
NVA: P50sa-A40-LS6-Cube2-BMU
Interconnect cables: DH Labs Air Matrix
Digits: Intel Core i7 fanless silent PC + Volumio
USB: Oehlbach XXL Masterclock + DH Labs Mirage
DAC: TeraDak 4.5 Chameleon CD: Cambridge CXC
Ethernet: Silent Angel Bonn N8 + AQ Cinnamon
Cans: AQ NightHawk / NightOwl Carbon

User avatar
savvypaul
Posts: 5967
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2016 7:14 pm
Location: Durham
Has thanked: 722 times
Been thanked: 665 times
Contact:
Great Britain

Re: AP30

Unread post by savvypaul »

Ordinaryman wrote: Fri Feb 19, 2021 9:54 pm I wish I had the ability to do so. I know and understand its not something that you are prepared to do, any idea as to who could?
Tomasz can do it, but not until he can return from Poland. Late March, we hope...
I am in the hi-fi trade
Status: Manufacturer
Company Name: NVA Hi-Fi
https://nvahifi.co.uk/

User avatar
savvypaul
Posts: 5967
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2016 7:14 pm
Location: Durham
Has thanked: 722 times
Been thanked: 665 times
Contact:
Great Britain

Re: AP30

Unread post by savvypaul »

Fretless wrote: Fri Feb 19, 2021 10:20 pm Sometimes I get grit/dust in the volume pot of my old NVA amp. What I do is (with no music playing) give the volume pot a few rapid twists to max and back until the pot stops making any unwanted noise.

Or try with the amp off first.
Unlikely to fix this imbalance issue, but it won't do any harm to try...
I am in the hi-fi trade
Status: Manufacturer
Company Name: NVA Hi-Fi
https://nvahifi.co.uk/

User avatar
Latteman
Posts: 826
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2018 7:20 pm
Location: S. Yorkshire
Has thanked: 125 times
Been thanked: 47 times
Contact:
Great Britain

Re: AP30

Unread post by Latteman »

Ordinaryman wrote: Fri Feb 19, 2021 9:54 pm I wish I had the ability to do so. I know and understand its not something that you are prepared to do, any idea as to who could?
If it’s confidence & U own a soldering iron it’s 5 or 6 connections at most (6 depending on the ‘earth’ arrangement), I’m sure we can all help with pics -it can be done.
These users thanked the author Latteman for the post:
karatestu (Sat Feb 20, 2021 7:01 pm)
Analogue Source - DIY turntable- donor Thorens TD321, DIY Single pivot Carbon Tonearm; Grado Reference Platinum FL; Nva Phono 1 (160va);
Lenco GL59, G101 tonearm, Ortofon MC10/MCA10 Yaqin M23B (Les Box)
Digital Sources- Linn Mimik, iPhone 6s (base adapter)
Amplification KHOZMO Acoustic Passive Pre - & Nva A20LE (👍🏼)
Speakers- Diy ‘Isobaric Cubes’; Ls6 bi-wired
Dc blocker to mini BMU

Daniel Quinn
Posts: 8157
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2012 7:16 am
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 151 times

Re: AP30

Unread post by Daniel Quinn »

It's just having confidence and knowledge. The forum will supply the knowledge and you acquire confidence by doing..
.
If I can learn to do it with only my none dominant hand/arm working any one can do it.
These users thanked the author Daniel Quinn for the post (total 2):
karatestu (Sat Feb 20, 2021 6:59 pm) • Latteman (Sat Feb 20, 2021 7:02 pm)

Post Reply